Go to footer

Sewing Questions (eyelets and thread)

You did WHAT? WHERE?? HOW??? Share the knowledge or explain once again why we use chalk pastels and not oils.

Sewing Questions (eyelets and thread)

Postby Dark Angel » Mon Feb 28, 2011 3:26 am

Hi,

I haven't sewn in a REALLY long time... and now I remember why. My thread is all weird. It's the bobbin's thread. What's going on?

And my other question is about eyelets. I've never used them before. I have a basic idea of how to do it, but if someone could explain it a little more clearly, or at least confirm that I know what I'm doing.

I *think* you have to cut the hole in the material, put the eyelet through so that the smooth part is on the right side of the fabric, and then you just lightly hammer the edges down? Is that all?

Thanks in advance! :)
My Family:
Angel, Madison, Morgan, Dog, Egyp, Zurui, Willow, Pandora, Meadow, Camille, Sazuki, Eros, Knox, Mishell, Kirin, Chili, Jack, Carmen, Levi, Dimitri, Sun Wukong, Jezzebelle, Ellie, Ayato, Adrian, Lulu, Dagon, Nick
Dark Angel
I have no life but dolliehs

Re: Sewing Questions (eyelets and thread)

Postby Greyhaunt » Mon Feb 28, 2011 9:58 am

Best tutorial on eyelets I've ever seen - particularly since it involves doll-sized eyelets!!!
http://www.dolls-n-daggers.com/Dolls/OOAKtipssewing.php#Eyelets

On the sewing note - I'm not sure, but see if maybe your tension isn't set tight enough.
Greyhaunt
Snarky Bitch Who Runs this Place

Postby skookum hime » Mon Feb 28, 2011 2:23 pm

It looks like your tension isn't tight enough. Also depending on the fabric. Thin fabrics need small needles if you use an 18 on cotton, I notice things like that happen too.
skookum hime
Dolly Pardon

Postby Serif Balehawk » Wed Mar 02, 2011 12:24 am