Go to footer

A Con-ventional vacation

The place for those OT discussions that you just HAVE to share in a doll themed forum.

A Con-ventional vacation

Postby kenaiqueen » Thu Mar 21, 2019 11:58 pm

I just got back home from a trip to Seattle's Emerald City Comic Con. Met up with 3 ladies (and the daughter of one) with whom I've been chatting on-line for over 10 years, but had only met one of them in person before. We did a cosplay day as the lunch ladies from the Stargate Atlantis cafeteria. Great fun! But no dolls! Honestly, hundreds of things for sale including figurines, but nothing articulated or that I'd call a real doll. Sad. I ended up with 2 new tees and a handful of books.

One of the high points was meeting my favorite author (and her delightful husband) and getting her autograph on one of my favorite trilogies in one lovely edition. Misty also signed some bookmarkers for my gal pals who were most delighted! Best part, I might have heard some spoilers about the next book and now I can hardly wait! :D

While I was there, the new Disney LE Briar Rose doll went on sale and I stayed up late one night and was able to order one. She was waiting for me when I got home this evening.
Just because you CAN doesn't mean you SHOULD.
kenaiqueen
Iz dolliehs Here

Re: A Con-ventional vacation

Postby neon_jellyfish » Fri Mar 22, 2019 3:18 am

That's great you had such a good time! And that you managed to snatch a limited doll!

Mind if I ask who is the author you mentioned?
neon_jellyfish
Dolly Pardon

Postby Kirahfaye » Fri Mar 22, 2019 6:15 am

So wonderful that you got to meet Misty and Larry!

I haven't checked into it in a couple of years (because we haven't been meeting), but our local group used to get together with others from DOA who were attending Dragon*Con so we could have a mini-meet up or two. It's always fun to meet people you've become friends with online or are even just members of the same forums.
Dollieh Nirvana
Kirahfaye
BD - Bachelors in Dollology