Go to footer

Sailor Mercury/Barbie Cosplay

Barbie, Jenny, Fashion Royalty, Obitsu and 1/6 resins - basically anything 10-12inch/21-27cm or in the neighborhood.

Sailor Mercury/Barbie Cosplay

Postby kenaiqueen » Thu Jun 29, 2023 6:05 pm

So I thought I'd put my pics here as I go about making this Barbie into Sailor Mercury. I got her today and I'm torn between using her body as is or swapping her body for a made to move body. I have one left, and it's not a bad match, but I think I want to keep the MTM as she is. (I like redheads!) I picked this girl for her blue hair because I knew it was the one thing I couldn't change. I will probably repaint her eyes and lips. I'm terrified to cut her hair because I'm not good with hair at all. But I'm going to try! Meantime, I'm going to try and make a sloper for her dress. I need to decide if I want to give her a gathered skirt or a pleated skirt. I've been looking at references and they seem to use both interchangeably. Any Sailor fans who have an opinion?

ImageBluBarb1 by Kenai Queen, on Flickr
ImageBluBarb2 by Kenai Queen, on Flickr
ImageBluBarb3 by Kenai Queen, on Flickr
Just because you CAN doesn't mean you SHOULD.
kenaiqueen
Iz dolliehs Here

Re: Sailor Mercury/Barbie Cosplay

Postby SetsunaKou » Thu Jun 29, 2023 9:04 pm

oooh! Good choice! Love her color of blue hair!!!!
Yes, go for it! You can do it!!! Just cut in layers so it's full and rounded. :)

Original and Super Mercury have pleated skirts; Eternal Mercury has sort of roll pleated skirts.
Which are you aiming for?

Love the visor, too!! Amy wears that often!!! And a little mini computer! (like a calculator thingy)

Is that a microscope and lab coat she's wearing? Do you know that Amy/Mercury wants to become a doctor like her mother! WOW!!!

:hugs:
SetsunaKou
Iz dolliehs Here

Postby maywong » Fri Jun 30, 2023 8:01 am

I can't wait to see her done up.
maywong
MD - Master of Dollology

Postby Kirahfaye » Fri Jun 30, 2023 9:56 am