Go to footer

My first repaint. Critique wanted please

Did you make that doll/wig/chair/whatever? No, really did you? Show us your finished products here! Post "How To's" in Tutorials

My first repaint. Critique wanted please

Postby Alopecia No Hime » Thu Jul 12, 2012 9:26 pm

I repainted my rapunzel barbie (piece of crap never worked when I was little...Mugged it for Haruka when I got her.) today and painted tattoo's on it. Just trying to get a feel for it. This is my first time stripping it of paint with nail polish remover...Or stripping ANYTHING of paint....I know I stained the head I think it was the polish remover. It has ace tone but it was died and with other stuff so it took awhile to get both irises off and it really went around. I think I could've done better as far as stripping it went. I also had a lot of trouble with the first layer. I mixed it with water like a lot of tutorials say to and it just didn't go on. I didn't use a lot but it kept sliding off so I whiped it and tried using straight acrylic and well....Here it is. I'm proud of it for my first shot but I know I can do better when I get more practice. So...Tips, critiques all wanted.

I didn't repaint the lips so....Here it is.

Tattoo's...I tried to do a kanji for ice but I don't recall it's exact look so don't hold me to it. And a flamel but that one failed.

The pentagram turned out okay.

~*~Storm Uchiha~*~
Alopecia No Hime
I have no life but dolliehs

Re: My first repaint. Critique wanted please

Postby yarwel » Thu Jul 12, 2012 9:56 pm

I would recommend getting the nail polish remover without acetone; I've noticed that acetone just causes the paint to smear around. Depending on the paint used by the manufacturer, you can also use just plain rubbing alcohol to remove the face-up.
I would also recommend giving her some eyebrows, or, if you did, making them just a little darker.
yarwel
the walls have dolliehs

Postby Alopecia No Hime » Thu Jul 12, 2012 9:59 pm